Home

IMG_0637

Look at us! Aren’t we adorable?

Analiese wore:

An outfit that required minimal effort!

My jeans are the glorious Kirsten Jeans that Caitlin raved about in a previous post. The shirt is a really cute white floral number I picked up in the Cotton On sale a while back for a bank-shattering $10. It’s actually a shirt that you’re meant to tie up in the front (what do we call those? Crop shirts?), but I like to tuck it into high-waisted things for a bit of minimal effort chic.

Sadly you can’t see my necklace in this photo, so I’ve uploaded another photo of it because I rather fancy it.

IMG_0062

I bought it for $20 at a craft fair in Aotea Square a few years back. Sadly I have no idea who made this nautical faux-cameo, but I like it and I wear it fairly often.

The lipstick was Rimmel’s Lasting Finish Matte by Kate Moss in 111. I’ve only just got into wearing matte shades and I think I’m on to a winner with this orangey-red. I’m hoping to do a post on matte shades in the next week or so, so keep your eyes peeled!

Because:

 I had spent the day trying to master the art of driving and finishing my first University assignment for the year, so by the time I left the house, I had a serious case of the ‘can’t-be-bothereds’.

Caitlin thought:

For all that Analiese said that she is envious of people being able to pull of jeans and a t-shirt, she can rock the jeans and casual button-down like ain’t no thang. The terrible photo doesn’t do justice to that glory that are the Kirsten jeans. The long necklace keeps this look from being awkwardly formal, while the red lipstick takes it from cater-waiter to stylish*.

*I hate myself for typing that, black pants and white shirts just inspire that mental image.

Caitlin wore:

The dress is from Kmart, where all good things are found eventually. It’s quite loose fitting so I put a belt round it and in doing so found that the outfit makes my waist look tiny. The pattern on the dress borders on ‘mid-60s recently widowed overly tan on a cruise’ so I broke it up with a chunky chain necklace (unsurprisingly from Once’it). The lipstick is MAC Chatter Box which is a lot pinker than it looks in the photo and on the MAC website. Hmmm.

Because:

I have been trying to comfortably wear this dress for a while now, so last Tuesday during a fit on indecision I put a belt round it and subsequently received many compliments. Vanity means I’ll now wear it at least once a week, every week, until the dress falls apart. Also I am borderline obsessed with my waist:hip ratio because it’s pretty great and I like to accentuate it.

I frantically applied the lipstick about 30 seconds before this photo was taken – I pulled out a small purse I carry my regular lipsticks in then spent about 5 minutes showing them off and not making a decision.

Analiese thought: 

Say what you want about majority of clothes in Kmart, but the old adage of “seek and ye shall find” definitely applies in this store! I’m usually not partial to big, bold florals, but this print is rather abstract which makes it quite striking. The belt was an excellent sartorial life choice and takes the dress from upholstery to outstanding.

Jeremy was most disappointed to miss out on taking our photo. He has requested a chance to detail his outfit next week. It’ll probably be jeans and a comic book tshirt. Bear with him.

Leave a comment