Home

Ok so I’ve been slacker than usual with the blogging stuff, but hear me out. Months and months ago I agreed to be the volunteer coordinator for a Labour party candidate and it subsequently ate all of my time. It all culminated a couple of weeks ago on election night, and since then I’ve been catching up on sleep, learning how to do exercise again, and helping the boy while his kids are here. I’m trying to be better, but I make no promises.

So here is how I survived Election Day, told via instagram, through my clothing and beauty choices.

2.5 weeks before election day

http://instagram.com/p/sdYedGJWHc/?modal=true

I voted! Lipstick is Purple Poison, jeans, blazer and singlet from Cotton On, boots from some outlet store on the Gold Coast, necklace. I copped a lot of flak for wearing blue and purple, but it’s ok because I’m not so stupid as to let the colours I’m wearing influence who I’m voting for!

The night before:

http://instagram.com/p/tHzLlxJWIZ/?modal=true

Brazened Honey face mask by Lush (obvs), Dr Renwick Pinot Noir, FKA twigs on spotify. Nails are Revlon Raven Red and Capsule Confetti.

(Funny story – I was home alone, and went into the lounge to take down the Labour sign in the window. I saw the outline of someone standing at my front door, and freaked the fuck out. I stood in the hallway holding an empty wine glass, petrified. There was a loud knock on the door so I mustered all of my courage and opened it. It was Greg and his youngest son collecting a laptop. I almost burst into tears. Not a great start to my calm before the storm evening)

The day:

http://instagram.com/p/tIzgwrJWA9/?modal=true

Dress from Glassons, blazer from Cotton On, belt from god knows where, chain necklace from Once’it. We were allowed to wear party colours but not party branded clothing, so I went with black because I could spill stuff on it/get mad sweaty/whatever and it wouldn’t matter. I also needed to be comfortable, because there was a lot of pacing/sitting in weird places/crouching to be done.

On my face: Maybelline Dream Pure BB cream, Bad Gal Lash, Zombettie. I needed to be able to apply my face at 6am and have it last for 13 hours (or at least not smear everywhere) and it totally did that! I was impressed, especially because I only had to reapply my lipstick once. In 13 hours.

In my hair: a bun donut from Kmart, because nobody has time for a lacklustre bun while co-ordinating 100 people and phones.

The night (I was ready to pass out):

http://instagram.com/p/tKNTMKpWK_/?modal=true

I know from here it looks like I’m just wearing the same thing, but I put on eyeliner and changed my lipstick to my go to (as well as a bit of Benetint and High Beam, to make me look alive). The change of clothes, while not being particularly fancy, definitely made me feel human again (along with the 6 pieces of pizza I ate).

Also, I was wearing this skirt (from Trade Me):

http://instagram.com/p/s-11CTpWGV/?modal=true

The morning after:

http://instagram.com/p/tMHILHpWBI/?modal=true

Super fresh faced for #bloggersbrunchclub with my girl Lena (who was absolute fire on the phones the day before, she gave me life). The shirt is from Kmart, and the lipstick is Kate for Rimmel 103 (ok so 103 isn’t on that site but it’s from Kmart).

So. That is how I survived Election Day while looking vaguely human on very little sleep. My final piece of advice: if you’ve had 3 coffees in the space of 2 hours, have an asparagus roll. Trust me on this.

2 thoughts on “How to Survive an Election

Leave a comment