Home

As someone who is generally adverse to wearing false lashes, I am all too aware about the importance of investing in a great mascara. Although I love false lashes on other people, I myself am wary about wearing falsies primarily because involves glue. Sticky Glue! Sticky Glue near my eyes!  I once managed to superglue my hand to a wardrobe door, so I simply don’t trust myself with the application of false lashes.

As is the case for many other beauty products, the mascara market is saturated with products that promise to fix a multitude of issues you may not have even known that you had in the first instance. This one will make your lashes look thicker! Here’s one will lengthen you lashes! This one won’t clump! Here’s some volume! This one will make your eyes look more cat-like!

A CAT! Why on earth would I want to look like a cat? I don’t know about you but I have never once looked in the mirror and thought to myself: “Man, I wish my lashes were more feline-eqsue.” All I’ve ever wanted is for my eyelashes to frame my eyes in a way that is complimentary and not distracting to the rest of my eye makeup. Is that too much to ask?

As it turns out, it’s not. I’ve lined up some great products to use before, during, and after the application of your mascara. These products vary from the inexpensive to the items that you should start saving for immediately. Are you ready? Right, let’s see what I’ve got in store for you!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

From left to right: Za Mascara Base; Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real!; Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Edge Meister; Lancome Virtuouse Precious Cells; Benefit Cosmetics Badgal Lash; Heroine Make Kiss Me Mascara Remover.

BEFORE YOU APPLY YOUR MASCARA:

Za Mascara Base

It may seem like an unnecessary additional step but I’m a fan of prepping and priming my makeup products prior to their application. Za Mascara Base is designed to increase the longevity of your mascara and assist it with giving you volume and length, as well as holding your eyelashes natural curl. It works especially well if you’ve used an eyelash curler earlier on in your beauty routine and, since using it, I’ve noticed that my mascara is less likely to smudge or rub off.

I bought it from a makeup clearance sale on Queen Street for all of $12, but you can purchase this from most pharmacies for around $24. Even if you’re not yet ready to invest in a new mascara, it may be worth buying one of these to add some complementary bonus features to your existing product.

AND NOW, THE MOMENT YOU’VE BEEN WAITING FOR: HERE ARE SOME MASCARAS!

Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Mascara

This is the Holy Grail of mascara. I wear this mascara on a daily basis and it does everything that you’d want a mascara to do. Your eyelashes instantly look darker, glossier and your eyes will thank you for applying something which in no, way, shape or form creates unsightly clumps. Best of all, you need to apply very few coats in order to have fabulous lashes, which means it’s a fairly economical product, and there’s no need to reapply it throughout the course of the day.

If you’re a fan of Benefit but you’re looking for a slightly sexier alternative, I also own a tiny container of BADgal Lash, which I’ve found is excellent at creating bigger, more glamorous lashes.

Both of these mascara’s have intense staying power (and I mean intense) so be prepared for Serious Panda Eyes if your pre-bed makeup removal routine is slightly lacking. What’s worse is that it also has intense staying power on items like pillowcases, so you will have a constant reminder of your poor life choices staring back up at you each night. Learn from my mistakes, people.

Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Edge Meister

I’d read about Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Edge Meister in a Singaporean fashion magazine called Herworld.  Majolica Majorca is actually the youth brand of cosmetics giant Shishedo and this particular product had taken out the Editor’s Choice Award in the Herworld Beauty Awards 2014 as a reasonably priced mascara that both lengthened and defined your lashes. I didn’t get a chance to pick one up before I left Singapore though, and I kicked myself afterwards for not paying one last visit to the local pharmacy. Next time, I thought to myself. Next time I will get my hands on one.

But then, MIRACLE OF MIRACLES, I discovered that Ippondo, the Japanese Makeup Store in the Atrium on Elliot, stock a very limited range of Majolica Majorca products…including the mascara I so coveted! I snaffled it up and took it home, eager to try it for myself.

It was definitely worth the investment. You apply the formula, which has tiny little fibres in it in order to boost your natural lashes, using a little comb. The little fibres are meant to act as fake lashes, instantly making your eyelashes look fuller. I found the comb to be especially great because it gives you the precision that normal brushes may not necessarily provide and it makes it easier to guide where you want said little lashes to place themselves.

Initially it was a little disconcerting to find that my mascara looked a little hairy, but the results have been brilliant. My lashes are more defined and the fibres appear to bulk up your lashes considerably. At $29 NZD, it’s worth a try, even if you’re wary of trying unfamiliar brands.

One more thing worth mentioning: the packaging is exquisite. If you’re into displaying and showing off your makeup, then this will be a delightful edition to any beside table.

Lancome Virtuouse Precious Cells 

If you’re after a mascara that is easy to apply and lasts a long time but doesn’t make your lashes look too intense, then this product is for you. I spent years wearing this as my daily go-to mascara but, after my dalliance with They’re Real,  I decided it was time to start seeing other mascaras.

Still though, if you’re uncertain about wearing mascara, this is a great entry-level product from a well-regarded cosmetics company. I still use it from time to time to, depending on my mood.

AFTER YOU’VE FINISHED BEING FABULOUS, HERE’S WHAT YOU SHOULD USE:

Heroine Make Mascara Remover

Japanese cosmetics company Heroine Make are known for their fantastic eye products. Their Heroine Make Long and Curl Mascara is currently missing from my arsenal of lash products but it is one that I rave about to other people constantly and is a glaring omission from the above reviews.

What is so great about the Long and Curl Mascara is that, once you’ve applied it, it never budges. The bad news is that once you’ve applied it, it never budges. Like, never. Not even your best makeup remover will be a match for this mascara.

Unless, of course, you have this amazing product:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Magic!

The Kiss Me Heroine Make Mascara Remover is one of the most ingenious tools on the makeup market. You simply apply the clear formula using the barrel-like end, wait for 15-30 seconds, and then use a cotton pad to simply wipe all of your mascara away. It’s quick and easy and it doesn’t sting if you accidentally get it in your eyes. Your eyelashes also feel strangely moisturised  once you’ve wiped everything off.

My only gripe about this product is that, with very little knowledge of the Japanese language, I don’t know what the mystery ingredient  is that makes this product so effective in fight against stubborn mascara! I would love to know what I’m putting on my face – can any of you help me out?

Thus concludes my tips and tricks to getting gorgeous lashes. What are yours? Are there any products you’re dying to try at the moment? Any mascara disasters that are worth sharing? Let me know!

Analiese x

4 thoughts on “Beauty Spot: Let’s talk lashes!

  1. Hey, another great post! Because I’ve been enjoying the blog so much and you deserve it I’m nominating you for the Liebster Award so feel free to complete it if you desire!

    • Thanks so much for that, Maggie! It’s awesome to hear that people enjoy (let alone read!) our little blog. We’ll have to give the questions some thought and find a way to divvy up the answers!

Leave a comment