Home

When we started this wee blog adventure, Lena added us to this facebook group called Make Up Obsessives. It’s… interesting. I find myself telling myself off for being a snob even though I’m not fancy, but for the most part the people are nice and it’s fun to see what makeup people are wearing. Recently, a few people on the page posted photos of a makeup stand in Countdowns saying how excited they were that it was finally here. Cue my confusion, because what is finally here and why are you getting all het up over supermarket makeup?

Whatever. Anyway, I was in Countdown and I saw the stand – the product packaging looks similar to Maybelline so I was super skeptical. I have strong feelings about super cheap makeup (my usual makeup is still on the cheap end, let’s be honest), in particular foundation, because I have had terrible experiences in the past. BUT I’m trying to be less of a dick and also branch out a bit more so I took my chances.

I was running low on liquid eyeliner so I picked up their felt tip liner pen. I’ve used Maybelline’s Line Definer and Master Precise, and neither of them won me over. The felt tip didn’t dispense enough colour and was quite hard, they were smudgy, and they definitely didn’t last very long before travelling down my face. I drew a couple of test lines on my hand , figured I could afford $15 for the sake of a review, and went on my merry way.

I wear a lot of liquid eyeliner, and I wear it almost every day. I’ve tried a lot of eyeliners in my time but I’ve never really settled on The One.

HOLY SHIT. This is the best damn liner I’ve used in a while. It’s Collection Cosmetic’s Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner and according to my internet research they’re quite a popular brand in the UK (but weirdly I could only get the Phillipine’s website so thanks Google). I’ve recently been using Rimmel’s Glam’Eyes Professional Liquid Liner after I was underwhelmed by MAC’s gloopy Liquidlast Liner, and I’ve been enjoying it even though the brush takes some getting used to (especially for precise wings!).

IMG_0728

The top line is Collection, the bottom Rimmel

Here’s what it looks like compared to the Rimmel – the felt tip means it’s quite easy to draw a thick line in one sweep (if you angle the pen you can easily draw a thinner line). Something I’ve found with the Rimmel is drawing over the line a couple of times makes it patchy and it’s a pain in the arse to wait for it to dry between each line – this doesn’t happen with the Collection.

IMG_0729

After I licked my thumb and smudged the colour.

So the Collection smudges more than the Rimmel, but I’m telling myself that makes it easier to remove at the end of the day. As I said, I had very low expectations to start with so I was pleasantly surprised that it lives up to its 24 hour claim, too.

Here it is in all its blackest black glory, after being on my face most of the day

IMG_0739

It hasn’t moved AT ALL

Needless to say, I’m sold. Get Collection Cosmetics from Countdown (eyeliner was less than $15).

Have you stumbled across any amazing products like this? What’s your favourite super cheap makeup?

3 thoughts on “Beauty Spot: New find! Eyeliner! Wow!

  1. Pingback: My Benefit Haul | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

  2. Pingback: How to Survive an Election | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

Leave a comment