Home

There have been very few products in my makeup routine that I have continuously purchased and used consistently over the year but, up until recently, I’d never even considered using a moisturizer other than the one that I religiously purchase.

After a decade of solid brand loyalty to Dermalogica, I was starting to wonder whether there were other products out on the market that might help conquer my ridiculously dry skin during these colder winter months. In the summer, I LOVE my Skin Smoothing Cream; it’s non-greasy, non-drying, it doesn’t make my makeup hard to apply once I’ve waited for it to absorb, and it has no real adverse effects on my skin. Basically, it’s the type of face product that every other moisturiser aspires to be like.

Come winter though, and each year I experience the exact same problem: my skin becomes so dry that my face starts to peel profusely. Is that a little too much information, even for a beauty blog? Probably, but what can I say? My skin hates the cold almost as much as I do.

After several years of ignoring the problem (or covering it up with gratuitous amounts of concealer and foundation) I’d had enough. I wanted a moisturiser that nourished my skin and made it feel soft and smooth. But where to look?

Thankfully, I found my miracle solution in the first place I looked: my mum’s makeup drawer!

After ferreting around through the products my Mum had left behind last time she came to visit me (a while ago now; why didn’t I have this idea earlier?!?) there, in all its majesty, I discovered a virtually untouched pot of Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream just screaming to be tested. After taking off all my makeup (virtuous, yes), I applied the cream VERY sparingly to my face. This stuff is thick and it turns out that a little goes a very, very long way.

photo 1-2

This pottle contains magic

The first morning after applying this cream, my face was unbelievably smooth.  Not only had the dry patches on my face become significantly less scaly but my skin looked remarkably even and as though I could quite easily just use a simple BB Cream over the top of it before going out as opposed to layering up my primer and foundation before leaving the house (as is my daily winter routine!).

This dramatic improvement in my skin can probably be attributed to the fact that Ultra Facial Cream contains Antarcticine, which is meant to protect your skin from the cold winter elements. According to their website, Antarcticine “…thrives in the most extreme environmental conditions as a result of the cryoprotective (protection against freezing) properties of the molecule.” Thanks, science!

photo 2-2

Legitimate #nomakeupselfie. LOOK AT MY SKIN THOUGH!

Unfortunately though, I quickly discovered that although this moisturizer is AMAZING at rehydrating your skin, it does have teflon-like qualities – used under my foundation, I discovered it doesn’t hold my makeup on to my face nearly as well as my ol’ trusty Dermalogica cream does. My makeup practically slid off my face and my skin was noticeably patchy (especially my nose, which looked as though I’d forgotten to apply foundation to it altogether).

Ultimately, I think this is more of a night moisturiser and, luckily, it smells amazing so it’s unlikely that your significant other will complain if you lather yourself in it before going to sleep! My plan now is to continue to use my Dermalogica cream during the day as, despite not being quite as nourishing as I would have liked during the winter, it really is a great all-round product. But my Kiehl’s Ultra (MIRACLE WORKING) Facial Cream will take pride of place on my dresser and become my favourite (and, let’s be honest, only) nocturnal beauty product!

What’s your moisturiser of choice? Do you swap products seasonally or use the same one all year round? I’ve love to know!

Analiese x

2 thoughts on “Beauty Spot: Miracle Moisturisers!

  1. I’m promiscuous when it comes to moisturiser. I have four – a nivea night cream, a cetaphil moisturiser, a sukin one and a dove one. I need to use them up and just have one but I seem to accidentally buy more.

Leave a comment