Home

Every so often I’ll find one ‘thing’ that I am inexplicably drawn to  – florals, animals on clothes, baggy hobo cardigans. For the sake of this blog post, today I’ll be talking to you about velvet skirts.

I bought my first velvet skirt for $5 from TradeMe. I bought my second from TradeMe for $15. My third is from some chain store in Australia for a whole $12.

IMG_1367 IMG_1368

Velvet pencil skirt was my second acquisition, the black skater skirt was where it all started. 

While I’m quite firmly from the school of ‘wear-it-how-you-damn-well-please’ fashion, I’ve had many comments about 1) my various velvet skirts and specifically 2) how the hell do you wear them? and even more specifically 3) how do you blue velvet on the reg?

You can see a few ways I wear the velvet pencil skirt over here, but if you’re still not into crop tops (weirdo), I’m pretty sure you can figure out how to wear a pencil skirt. Same with the black skater skirt. Wear it how you wear every other black skirt you own. I’ve had this thing for 5 years and still wear it about twice a week.

My friend Pip, who is actually the only person who has asked about wearing blue velvet, said that she feels weird wearing a blue skirt and black tights, because it reminds her of an air hostess. To that I say “Your stupid fashion rules can eat it.”

IMG_1358

Here I am, wearing blue, black, and brown all together and not only did the universe not explode, it actually looks good!

http://instagram.com/p/rV7SWVJWEN/?modal=true

And again! This photo isn’t even staged for the purposes of this post!

So. How do I wear blue velvet? Let me show you.

Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.25 pm Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.24 pm

With jumpers! Tucked in, so the skirt doesn’t hitch up around my bum. Oh look, there’s my wine. Whoops. 

Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.16 pm Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.09 pm #4

With shirts! Obvs you don’t need to tie a crop top, but life is short and crop tops are great.

Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.23 pm #2 Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.22 pm #2 Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.22 pm

With sheer tops, and varying degrees of cropped depending on your mood/the weather/the occasion (I definitely call the middle photo work appropriate)

Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.21 pm Photo on 10-08-14 at 6.19 pm

Patterned OR plain! 

IMG_1357 IMG_1363

The shoes I most commonly wear with this skirt! Excuse the bad flash photo, I was working with what I had (not a lot).

You were probably expecting some huge revelation at the end of this post which told you how to wear blue and velvet and the rest of your clothes and keep it interesting but SPOILER ALERT there really isn’t. But what you have here are ideas for how you can wear blue velvet/crop tops/a tired top knot and look cute no matter what.

Most of the tops in this post are from Kmart or the Warehouse, with a few items from Dotti, Once’it, and random chain stores thrown in. The brown flats are Mi Piaci, the black mary jane brogues are Mischief, and the brown boots are from an outlet store in Australia. The shoes are the only things in these photos which cost more than $20.

Are you into velvet like I am? Was this even helpful? I’m not so confident with the fashion posts!

8 thoughts on “All Velvet All The Time

  1. Oh Caitlin my dear, I fear you don’t remember when crop tops were trendy the *first* time around…unfortunately, I do!
    I love velvet so much I got married in it, btw.

      • I don’t know, for a few years the crop tops were paired with high rise jeans (now apparently known as “mom jeans”) – episodes of Friends reveal the true horror…

  2. You’ll be happy to know that I did it – I bought a velvet skirt. I haven’t worn it yet, but y’know, baby steps…

Leave a comment