Home

As we’ve already established, I love lipstick. I keep a small purse in my handbag which has my 8 regular lipsticks, and I have others which I keep at home but am not likely to wear on a daily basis.

Growing up, mum had very little makeup. As in, she had the same container of Natural Glow from before I can remember until perhaps 2006, and she owned the same tube of blue mascara throughout my whole childhood and most of my teenage years. Gross. Nana was different. Nana never had a lot of makeup, but she always had enough for at least full face, and most of it was Revlon. Little did my tiny child brain realise that it was just regular middle of the range makeup; I grew up thinking Revlon was the height of glamour and sophistication.

Things change, people grow up, we learn that there are other, more glamorous brands out there. Whatever. I love Revlon, and true love lasts a lifetime.*

So here we are. My two favourite Revlon lipsticks.

IMG_0629 IMG_0630 IMG_0633

Quality of selfies this week is severely lacking, life is hard.

  1. Va Va Violet 663 – I bought this on a whim while in Sydney last year, wore it to every party I went to for the next 3 months, then retired it as Lorde and her dark lipstick gained popularity. But I can’t quit it – I’m so pale and blonde and it’s so intimidating to wear but it makes me feel so great! And it fades out to a great lighter purple that is so different from my usual repertoire of reds and pinks. As with all Revlon colours it requires a bit more care and touching up than other brands, but the pigment is pretty rich so it isn’t as much of a nightmare as it could be.
  2. Cha Cha Cherry 626 – Analiese and I were at one of those giant makeup sales they hold at the ASB Showgrounds. We’d wandered off to look at our own things and when we met back up we both raved about this great red we’d found. Oh, us. Cha Cha Cherry is quite light in feeling and colour. It’s my go to office lipstick if I feel like I need a quick boost of colour without effort/other makeup/life skills. Because it’s a bit more of a subtle red it doesn’t wear off weirdly, but it has even less staying power than the Va Va Violet.

Analiese has also mentioned how quickly Revlon lipsticks wear off, and it’s a damn shame because everything else about them is great (including the price – I don’t think I’ve ever paid more than $20!), but I like applying lipstick so I am committed to them.

Are you weirdly loyal to any brands? Have you recently branched out and bought a lipstick wildly different to all your others?

P.S. I’m wearing a crop top to work today in the lead up to my post next week about them, so start thinking about your favourite inappropriate office attire to share with us!

*Successfully place that quote and you’ll get a high five or 3. 

11 thoughts on “Beauty Spot: Oh God More Lipstick

  1. There’s only one red lipstick in my heart, and that’s Bella by Bloom. It’s hard to get Bloom in NZ anymore! I might find myself shopping for a new red soon…

    • I’ve seen Bloom cosmetics but never tried them – probably for the best, lest I fall in love. If you need recommendations, let us know! Analiese and I have reds for all occasions so at the very least could tell you what not to try.

  2. Pingback: Can’t Get Enough: Show Your Midriff All Year Round | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

  3. Oh I feel like your quote was in there, just for me. True love lasts a lifetime, unless your husband wants to buy his PA a heinous gold necklace from Rowan Atkinson.

  4. Pingback: Revlon’s Redeeming Lip Products | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

  5. Pingback: What We Wore Wednesday, Finally! | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

  6. Pingback: Beauty Spot: Red Alert! | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

  7. Pingback: KA’OIR: A Lesson In Managing Expectations | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

Leave a comment