Home

Recently, I’ve been trying to diversify my lip product palette. No longer content with the lipstick in its traditional form, I’ve been shopping around for other products: lip stains, lip crayons, lip balms; you name it, I’ve got at least one.

I was in my local Farmers the other day (which, for those of you reading from overseas, isn’t a produce market but a department store) when I spotted a group of lip products that were entirely new to me: lip butters. Lip butters are effectively lipsticks designed to leave your lips feeling moisturised without you having to compromise on the pigmentation of your lip product and, really, who can say no to something that wants to assist you with making your lips look and feel pretty? Not I!

I noticed at the time that there were two pharmacy or “drugstore” brands that were really pushing these products: Revlon and  Maybelline, Making a mental note, I put these on my lists of products I needed in my life and resolved to buy one of each when they were on sale.

Imagine my delight, then, when I managed to score both these products at a significantly cheaper price. I picked up Revlon’s Colorburst Lip Butter in Gumdrop for $10 at the Makeup outlet down on Queen Street and scored not one but two Limited Edition Color Whispers (Plum Tease and Coral Whisper) for only $6.98 NZD from 1-day.co.nz.  All three products are very different in colour (Gumdrop is a mauve whilst the shade of the other two products are fairly self-explanatory (Coral Tease is orangey whilst Plum Setter is a darker shade of purple).

First, let’s have a look at the similarities:

Colorburst v Color Whisper

 Maybelline Color Whisper in Plum Setter; Revlon Colorburst in Gumdrop; and  Maybelline Color Whisper in Coral Tease

Colorburst and Color Whisper’s packaging are fairly similar in appearance, though the Color Whispers are slightly thinner and taller than their Revlon counterpart. I do like the textured diamonds running up the side of the Colorburst though!

Upon closer inspection it’s really apparent that the Colorburst is a different consistency that that of the Color Whisper. Whilst the Colorburst actually looks buttery, the Color Whisper resembles a standard lipstick consistency. Also, unlike the Colorburst, the Color Whisper is laden with tiny bits of glitter and is guaranteed to give you a much more shimmery look. Personally I love a bit of sparkle, but if you’re more into a subtle look, then the Colorburst is probably more your weapon of choice.

color whisper v colorburst

Color Whisper (left) and Colorburst (right). They’re both so pretty!

Speaking of subtly, this is where the Colourburst was a real let-down for me: even with several applications, the Colorburst is so soft and translucent that you can only see a faint mauve sheen on your lips. While this is great for people who want to experiment with colours or for those who aren’t that thrilled by the prospect of wearing bolder shades, the fact that this colour was a pale shade of purple made me look as though I was more chilly than chic! The Color Whispers, on the other hand, are both very pigmented (and glittery!) and needed only one coat to really show up on my lips. Do I need that much shimmer in my life and on my lips, though? Probably not, but it’s novel to have a dramatic lip colour on hand for a special occasion

swatches

From top to bottom: Revlon Colorburst in Gumdrop; Maybelline Color Whisper in Plum Setter and another Maybelline Color Whisper in Coral Tease.

Although neither product has especially great staying power, the extra pigmentation in the Color Whispers means that it appears to last longer. I had to reapply both of these products after about three hours (or sooner if i ate or drank anything). Not ideal for a lady on the go!

Whilst they are on your lips, though, both formulas feel lovely and smooth. Relvon’s Lip Butters are especially nourishing; with mango, shea and coconut butter, Revlon boasts that these babies “boost lip moisture by 156%.” How do they judge that? I’m not certain but considering my lips felt lovely afterwards, I’ll take their word for it!

Because I’m a fan of bold lip colours, I’m going to say that the Colorburst, whilst a great product for people wanting something subtle, is a little too sheer for my liking. The Color Whispers though have got my vote and will now be on high rotation, though I wish I’d invested in one that doesn’t have a shimmery sheen (their standard range is glitter-less, so I’m told).

I’m glad I’ve given both products a go. It’s fun to branch out and now I own three colours I wouldn’t have normally thought about trying had they been full-price.

Have you tried either product? Would you give them a go?

Analiese x

 

 

Leave a comment