Home

The day before the wedding, I was in Kmart getting last minute supplies and browsing for things I didn’t realise I needed. I’ve been looking at getting more muted colours for my nails, because I have a lot of brights and darks, but no really light colours.

I found these nail polishes at the end of the makeup aisle, where they keep the super super cheap stuff and the Kmart brand nail polishes (Kmart brand have their own wall display, so it’s not like they’ve relegated the entire line of their home brand to Siberia). The polishes were in a box of 2, for $4, and the perfect colour. Except they were textured. After a fruitless hunt for the same colours but untextured, I decided that for $4 I could try out this weird gritty nail polish and if I hated it I wouldn’t be wasting money.

I roped my friend Julia into being the guinea pig – she’s only just learning about cosmetics and skin care etc (girl doesn’t even own a hair dryer) and never does anything to her nails, so she’s really appreciative even when they look shit.

I gave her the full treatment, clipping her cuticles and moisturising with coconut oil because she’s worth it, and also because you need a good base obvs.

IMG_1478

IMG_1480 IMG_1479

Mine are the pink, Julia’s are the grey/brown

Once I got over my initial weirdness about the gritty texture, I realised these are pretty great polishes. Two coats is the perfect opacity, it’s not streaky or gloopy, and it dries quite quickly. I think it chips a little quicker than more expensive polishes, but I wouldn’t know because I manage to chip gel polishes within a day or two. I was worried that trying to remove it would be like when you remove glitter polish (so, the worst) but it comes off easily too.

And it was $4. Would I buy it again? Definitely – you know how much of a sucker I am for lazy nail art.

How do you guys feel about the texture? What’s the weirdest polish you have?

7 thoughts on “Textured Nail Polish: Weird Things Need Love Too

  1. I have a textured polish on now!! It’s so cool but I’m probably going to need a chisel or full-strength acetone to get it of. it’s Sally hansen, $5-10 in Aus and probably $20 in NZ 😦 This looks quite rad.

  2. I hate that liquid sand shit OPI does. I feel the need to compulsively run my fingers over my nails until I’ve just about sandpapered the pads off. Folding washing while wearing it is pretty much torture (especially anything made of microfiber *shudder*). Plus it’s a bitch to get off. It sucks because I particularly love ‘Jinx’ but the texture just doesn’t work for me at all.

    • I haven’t tried it – I have an aversion to OPI because everyone thinks it’s the shit but it’s not that great in my mind. This isn’t anywhere near that bad – it’s more just little bumps, not scratchy at all! I did finish with a super smooth top coat though that might’ve helped.

      • aah OPI is like some weird crack shit that I have to buy but I agree with you it’s not all that. Butter is better. And yes, I’m that weird commenter who is trawling through all your posts at once and commenting on old posts

Leave a comment