Home

When I was about 10, a family friend’s daughter would pierce her nail and put a ring through it to hang things off. Seriously, all you needed was a needle and a broken necklace, and you had it! Years later, I spent most of 2011 getting drunk and doing my flatmates’ nails to finally get the perfect leopard print nail. You can take the girl outta the Hutt, and all that.

I love doing my nails/getting my nails did/hunting for the longest lasting nail polish. My deep laziness means I don’t always have perfectly manicured nails, but I try to sit down and do them at least once a fortnight, if not once a week. Recently I had to up that coz boy’s kids came over for the school holidays so I lent them all my nail polish and gave them free licence to paint my nails, which they did often. I also taught miss 8 how to do leopard print

IMG_0725

Painting her father’s nails – not a bad leopard print for her first try!

ANYWAY, having Easter Tuesday off work was the perfect excuse to go to Kmart and spend hours looking at the super cheap greatness that is. The one at St Lukes has rearranged the makeup to a far more user friendly layout which is how I stumbled across these gems

IMG_0727

They have no discernible brand! $4 each 

Big Bird is a glitter polish, Royal Lady is nail caviar, and Glam Mix is a pot of glitter. The instructions for the last 2 are simple – paint your base coat then dip your finger in. The results:

IMG_0726

I’m super meh about the Big Bird, but perhaps it’d be ok over a solid colour. The glitter managed to do what glitter does best and go everywhere. The caviar needs some practice because bits of it fell off and other bits got lumpy.

BUT with practice, I think the caviar could be done really well – especially if you paint your nails and then create patterns for the caviar to stick to; as a solid nail it falls off and chips quite quickly. And the glitter would work better if I hadn’t insisted on doing it on my bed while watching tv.

And for $4 a piece, I can’t really complain anyway. They also had finer glitter, nail ‘velvet’, and an array of very bright polishes.

What’s your favourite go-to nail art? Are you also bored of OPI?

3 thoughts on “Nail Art For The Lazy

  1. Pingback: Beauty Spot: Chalkboard Nails | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

  2. Pingback: Glitter Nail Polish For The Faint Hearted | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

  3. Pingback: Textured Nail Polish: Weird Things Need Love Too | My Flatmate's Wardrobe

Leave a comment